Decadent Brussels Sprouts with Bacon and Blue Cheese

I love vegetables. Really, I do. I’ve never been the type of person who feels the need to slater vegetables in cheese or add copious amounts of cured meats in order to get my 5 servings a day. My go-to methods usually involve roasting or sautéing, with minimal seasoning to let their natural flavor shine through.

So, you can understand my confusion when I spied an overflowing pile of brussels sprouts at the farmer’s market and visions of bacon and blue cheese started dancing through my head. The more I thought about it, the more tantalizing the prospect became.

Out of that moment came this recipe. I brought the dish to a potluck that week and every bite was gone by the time I left. Give this a whirl the next time you are looking to spice up your roasted vegetable game.

Ingredients

1 lb brussel sprouts

12 oz applewood smoked bacon

3 oz crumbled blue cheese

Directions

Preheat the oven to 450.

Slice brussels sprouts into halves or quarters, depending on their size. Set aside in a medium-large bowl.

IMG_8358

Cook bacon in batches, being sure to save the grease. Set aside to cool, then slice.

IMG_8368

Once the grease has cooled slightly, pour over the brussels sprouts and toss to coat.

IMG_8361

Add the bacon, and stir to combine. Once the mixture is just over room temperature, add the blue cheese crumbles and stir until mixed through.

Pour the brussels sprout-bacon-cheese mixture into a small-medium baking dish. Bake for 20 minutes, or until the cheese has started to melt. Serve hot.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

