Carrot Salad with Cilantro, Spring Onions, Lime and Ginger

Image

The more items in my CSA box I can squeeze into one meal, the happier I am. There’s nothing quite like a delicious meal that’s almost entirely vegetables.

In the cooler months of the year, I absolutely adore roasting vegetables. I eat them as a stand-alone meal, add them to salads, or spice up an ordinary bowl of quinoa. In the warmer months of the year, I struggle a bit more to find interesting ways to eat my vegetables. Fruit? No problem. But it can be hard to stay away from the usual rotation of celery and nut butter or carrots with hummus.

So when I saw a huge bunch of carrots in my CSA box, I knew I just had to come up with something creative to do with them. I decided on a twist of the red cabbage-carrot salad I made a little while back, with thinly sliced carrots and a host of other fresh flavors. This salad was definitely a winner! I ate it on it’s own a couple times as a light meal, and added a scant cup of cooked brown rice to the last serving for a more substantial lunch.

Local ingredients: carrots (CSA box), cilantro (CSA box), spring onions (CSA box), ginger (Farmer’s)

Ingredients

9 medium-large carrots

1 bunch cilantro

3 limes

1 bunch spring onions

3 tbsp olive oil

1 2-inch piece ginger

Directions

Thinly slice carrots, then chop cilantro and onions. Add carrots, cilantro, and onions to a large bowl.

Image

Juice the limes and add to the bowl along with the olive oil. Peel the ginger, and grate into the bowl as well. Mix and let sit in the fridge at least one hour. Serve cold, alone or with 1 cup cooked brown rice.

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Carrot Salad with Cilantro, Spring Onions, Lime and Ginger”

  1. mgdailyexploits says :

    I love how simple this is–it looks delicious!

Leave a Reply

