Roasted Winter Vegetables: Pear, Fennel and Butternut Squash

Roasted Winter Vegetables: Pear, Fennel, and Butternut Squash

Usually, my 1-2 person CSA box share lasts me a solid week and a half, leaving me with only a few days of cobbling meals together from my pantry before my next box arrives. Occasionally, I power through the mountain of produce in about a week. My reward? Going to a local farmer’s market and stocking up until my next box arrives.

Browsing for tasty vegetables, I found some amazing fennel bulbs, followed by a just-big-enough butternut squash. I wanted something on the sweet side to complement the flavors, and apples just weren’t going to do the trick. So, on my way home from the farmer’s market I bought some pears at the store.

Proof that you can get away with a bowl of produce and nothing else for dinner.

Roasted Winter Vegetables: Pear, Fennel and Butternut Squash

Ingredients

1 large fennel bulb

Stems from 1 large fennel bulb

1 small butternut squash

3 pears, chopped

1.5 tbsp olive oil

Directions

Preheat the oven to 425 (F). Chop the fennel bulb and stems. Peel the butternut squash, de-seed, and chop. De-seed and chop the pears. Toss with olive oil and spread out onto a rimmed baking sheet. Roast for approximately 25 – 35 minutes, until squash and pear pieces are tender.

Serve warm as either a side or a stand-alone meal.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

